Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Nominations for Change

The Charles Bronfman Prize

The Charles Bronfman Prize has launched its 2009 award cycle, marking the start of this year's international quest for extraordinary, young humanitarians. The Prize celebrates the vision and talent of an individual or team under 50 years of age, whose humanitarian work has contributed significantly to the betterment of the world.

The Prize awards the recipient(s) $100,000. Nominations will be received until November 30, 2008.

Echoing Green Fellowships

The Echoing Green Fellowship provides seed funding (up to $90,000) and technical support (fellows learn how to develop a strategic plan, create a budget, and run an organization) to turn a visionary idea for social change – be it a sustainable energy system, a new model for middle schools, or a cutting-edge public health program – into a reality. And social entrepreneurs in dozens of countries and just about every field of social change, from education (Teach For America) to human rights (EarthRights International), from public service (City Year) to microfinance (SKS India), have used this fellowship to launch their organizations. Phase One applications due December 1, 2008.

Skoll Awards for Social Entrepreneurship

The Skoll Foundation announces that November 4, 2008 is the next deadline for receipt of applications for the Skoll Awards for Social Entrepreneurship.
Skoll is looking for social entrepreneurs whose work has the potential for large-scale positive change in the areas of tolerance and human rights, health, environmental sustainability, peace and security, institutional responsibility, and economic and social equity. Within these issues, we are particularly interested in applications from social entrepreneurs working in five critical sub-issue areas that threaten the survival of humanity – climate change, nuclear proliferation, pandemics, conflict in the Middle East and water scarcity.

Award winners are celebrated at the annual Skoll World Forum following their selection, at the end of March in Oxford, England.

You can read the Award Guidelines, take the eligibility quiz and fill out an application on the Web site.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Nice Post. Thanks for sharing this information with us.